Don't forget the Databases

Password/Contraseñas

Our password list is only accessible to students and staff. Nuestra lista de contraseñas solo es accesible para los estudiantes y el personal.

Parents and Caregivers: Please contact Mrs. Feriano to gain access.

Padres y cuidadores: comuníquese con Sra. Feriano para acceder

patricia_a_feriano@mcpsmd.org

Humanities 7: Africa Museum Project

A Collection of SHORT videos discussing various works of art

and artifacts from African Civilizations.

A GOOD PLACE for PRELIMINARY RESEARCH

Browse the Smithsonian collection of African Art.

Clicking on the image will give you a further description of the piece. BE AWARE many of these pieces are from modern artists and reflect the country of origin.

You will find an extensive list of African tribes, all of which created the masks, figures and textiles we sell.

Try the Virtual Tours to locate art you may be interested in, each target gives some general information about the piece.

African Art Museum

The collection of African tribal art featuring over 1,200 artifacts from 100 ethnic groups. Items on display include wooden and bronze statues, masks, religious, ritual and domestic objects, furniture and weapons. Learn about art, culture and history of each ethnic group.

This is GREAT site for choosing a tribe and getting General and Cultural information about MANY tribes.

EXHIBITIONS AT THE MUSEUM

Textiles Across Africa
Between the Worlds: Connecting Seen and Unseen
Culture, Currency, Continuity:
Cowrie Shells in African Art
Roots: Hair, Culture, History

Regional Index for Africa

Use Search bar to locate Kingdom, Country or region. Filter to find articles, images, videos and more

7 Influential African Empires

From ancient Sudan to medieval Zimbabwe, get the facts on seven African kingdoms that made their mark on history.

The Kingdom of Kush, The Land of Punt, The Kingdom of Aksum, The Mali Empire,The Songhai Empire,The Great Zimbabwe

African Collection

Collection HIghlights: Ancient African Civilizations, The Bowmore Collection (artifacts) Mbira thumb piano

The Story of Africa

African History from the Dawn of Time

See the rise and fall of empires and kingdoms, experience the power of religion, the injustices of slavery, and chart the expansion of trade between Africa and other continents.

Art of the Benin Kingdom

The court of the Benin kingdom, located in Benin City, Nigeria, supported two guilds of artists who created masterpieces in bronze and ivory.

The Africa Galleries reveal the extraordinary cultural, artistic and historical diversity and complexity of the continent represented by the collections.

Look at the works of art under the Highlights section

Use this link to view additional works of art from various tribes

Established in 2007 in Lagos, Nigeria, African Artists’ Foundation aims to encourage the highest standard of art in Africa.

This is a good place to look for Contemporary Art--trace the techniques and features back to their traditions

Collection: Arts of Africa

Our Arts of Africa collection focuses primarily on historical works from Western, Central, Southern, and Eastern Africa, and includes contemporary art from across the continent. Numbering approximately 4,500 works, and spanning from 200 C.E. to today, the Arts of Africa collection is one of the most important of its kind in a U.S. art museum and covers millennia of African creativity.